Islamophobic Canards

breaking the stereotypes

The beginning

Bismillah Ar-Rahman Ar-Raheem,

I’ve been involved in so many discussions with other Americans about Muslims, and I’m struck by how many weird stereotypes I keep hearing. Some are from bad Hollywood movies and the cartoonish villains inside them, and some are from chain letter emails citing false sources, and others are just a mystery. I keep running into the same arguments, and I wind up having to debunk the same things over and over. It’s like I should just copy-paste my responses since it’s the same old stuff repeatedly.

A canard is an unfounded or false, deliberately misleading fabrication. The word is often used to describe the various anti-Semitic myths about Jews, for example. It’s a shame that such canards exist in this day and age, and just as the Jewish community has worked hard to dispel such myths about themselves, I intend to do the same for Muslims. This will be a very difficult job, and I hope my small blog is a starting point. Please help me, in any way you can. Can you write? Contact me.

–Sulayman As-Suqali.

Leave a Reply

